Processing

After my recent scone misfortune, I luckily had some kitchen success today…starting with this morning’s omelet.

I figured out a better omelet making plan, because normally mine suck.  They taste just fine but they look horrendous (broken, gooey messes).  This morning I sauteed diced onion in some olive oil for a minute or two, then added some orange pepper for another minute, then finally added diced tomato and some mixed greens.  Then in a bigger pan I poured an egg and two whites (whisked with some milk and a grind of salt) and threw a cover on it until it looked crepe like.  This could be an extremely wrong way of omelet making, but it worked for me.  I will say that it wasn’t big and fluffy, and really did turn out a bit crepe like since there wasn’t a whole lot of scrambling.  I also melted some cheddar in there too.

Thank goodness this turned out well, because before breakfast, I spent five minutes scraping chewed gum out of a machine at the gym  to realize the tv on it didn’t work.  Lesson learned: bring an ipod.  Speaking of ipods…  there was a girl at the gym today that blasted her music (awful song choices to boot) from her phone so the entire gym had to listen to it.  Why. no. headphones.?

I hadn’t used the food processor in a while, so I went crazy with it today.

For lunch I made an entirely processed meal.  We’ll call it preparation for when I get my tonsils out next month.

I topped some greens with a couple of lemon wedges, some edamame hummus, carrots, celery and a red bean hummusy dressing (really technical lingo here) that consisted of red beans, greek yogurt, dijon, parsley, salt, pepper and lemon juice.  No real dressing needed.

Later I had an artichoke.  Artichokes are super bizarre.  I don’t care what anyone says.

When we were little, Dad used to cook us up artichokes with lemon butter … there was something so fun about the process of eating them.  Now it seems like a pain in the arse.

THEN… more processing.

My mom’s cousin Rhonda dropped off 3 sugar pumpkins the other night, and I decided to bake them up and make my own puree.  It proved to be a lot easier than I thought it would.  I chopped the pumpkins in half and put them in a 400 degree oven for about an hour in an inch of water (face down).

Make sure to scrape out the goo! Then process away.

Maybe I’ll put it under Anna’s pillow.

While Anna was at work doing real people things, Liz and I did tandem laundry and baking.

Liz made her classic chocolate chip cookies.

And I made pumpkin oat bars… with chocolate!

Wooo. Wooo. Success!  It even got the coveted Liz seal of approval.

Thankfully, I got this baking endeavor right.

Here’s the rough (seriously estimating) recipe:

-2 Tsp. vanilla

-1 egg

-1 cup sugar

-3/4 cup pumpkin puree (fresh!)

-1/4 promise

-1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

-3/4 cup steel cut oats (any oats would do)

-2 Tsp. baking powder

-1 Tsp. cinnamon

-1 Tsp. Pumpkin pie spice

-1/8 Tsp. salt

Topped with processed almonds (probably 1/2 cup?) and dark chocolate kisses (12 of them?)

Baked for who even knows how long at about 350.  Sorry I don’t do precise.

Cakey, sweet, remotely healthy.  I would definitely make this one again.

 

So excited for all of our visitors this weekend!

 

Here’s the latest signature: Siena’s Chicken Riggies

Tomorrow morning: interview at a fish market.  This should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

