Pastries for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

So even though I spent over 2 hours today driving to and from interviews, one ended with baked goods, and the other ended with a hug.

This morning I visited Patisserie in Skaneateles to interview Lisa Troup about her apple stix for next week’s signature item for the Post Standard.

And I walked away with a box of heavenly baked goods.

image

A blueberry scone, 3 apple stix, a berry gallette, and some sort of outrageously good cheesecake chocolate muffin and a (still warm) loaf of Italian stretch bread.

Then I sat by the lake and tried every single one of them.  The scone was my absolute favorite.

Anna’s fav: apple stix

Liz’s fav: bloob scone

Molly’s (our upstairs neighbor) mom even drives a half hour just to get Patisserie’s bread.  It’s literally that good.

Needless to say, the goodies satisfied me until dinner, and made certain that I have to go back in the very near future.  But before dinner, I drove to Cazenovia for another interview.

I met Joan Green at her house to talk about her massive cookbook collection — she just donated 2,000 of them to SU’s library.  Her house was insane… completely decked out in souvenirs from all of her travels with her husband of almost 63 years — tribal masks, books, figurines, crocheted animals.  I could have looked around that house and talked to Joan for hours.

Her favorite Food Network chef: Anne Burrell (who grew up in Cazenovia). She also agreed with me that Ina Garten has a fantastically soothing television voice.

Don’t want to give away the whole story, but sitting down with someone like Joan actually made me enjoy my major.  And she called me adorable and hugged me… doesn’t get much better than that.

For dinner I threw some roasted veggies (squash, onion and turnips), goat cheese and pistachios on top of mixed greens.  Some stretch bread from Patisserie on the side and a dressing of apple sauce, balsamic and honey mustard.

And for dessert: I obviously tackled more of the pastries.

Leave a Reply

