Baking Success + More Baking

Okay, so no horrendously awful failure with the pumpkin-banana bread.  In fact, it turned out pretty darn good and super moist.  This morning I lightly buttered it and let it hang out in a hot pan for a few minutes.

They served banana bread everywhere in Australia.  It was always best buttered and toasted.  Our roommate Garret morphed into a banana-bread-making pro by the end of our stay.

Some nuts and apple sauce on the side.

Then I interviewed Chef Robert Smith at Limestone Grille in Fayetteville.  After a lengthy photo shoot of the food, I sat down with the photographer to share coconut sea scallops – sauteed in white wine, brandy, coconut milk and red curry and topped with tri-colored peppers and onions… all served on house rice.  Seriously soooo good.  The chef sanctioned off a separate room for the shoot and interview so it was nice to just chat with him in a quiet area while the photographer did his thing.

Then I arrived home to the smell of cookies! Liz whipped up no less than 100 of them for a class she’s taking.  Luckily since I shared some banana bread, she shared some dough and cookies.

And look at this! What domestic roommates I have!

Anna created this fancy-shmancy sandwich for her dinner tonight.  Even some banana peppers are lodged in the middle.  Anna is also the world’s best popcorn-on-the-stove maker.  I avoid it at all costs because I burn half of it while the other half refuses to pop.

And then while making dinner, I unfortunately happened upon a massive stink bug on our kitchen window:

Obviously Liz snapped a shot while I suited up for battle… just like the other night when I balanced on a kitchen chair on top of her bed to take care of a nasty-arse spider and she took a picture of me instead of holding the chair steady.

See that piece of wood connecting the cabinets above my head?  Well my voluminous bun got stuck on it when I tried to jump off the sink.  The lengths I go to to protect my children.

For dinner I made a salad with honey-mustard red beans, grilled onion, blue cheese, roasted cauliflower and butternut squash, and pineapple plus a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

Almond milk and a cookie for dessert.

One response to “Baking Success + More Baking

Leave a Reply

